Book search:

Oak Tree Fine Press

Oak Tree Fine Press is a privately owned publishing company specializing in exceptional literary fiction

J.M. Coetzee

J.M. Coetzee

"I am not a herald of community or anything else. I am someone who has intimations of freedom (as every chained prisoner has) and constructs representations of people slipping their chains and turning their faces to the light."

J.M. Coetzee’s support was instrumental in the establishment of Oak Tree Fine Press and the First Chapter Booker Prize Series. To date, we have published three limited editions signed by Coetzee, including our very first publication, The Life and Times of Michael K, Disgrace and The Vietnam Project, which incorporates the full text of the novella from his first work, Dusklands.

Find out more and purchase

For more details about our J.M. Coetzee publications go to:

Winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature and the only author to have twice won the Booker Prize, J. M. Coetzee is widely celebrated as one of our greatest living authors. Despite his fame, signed editions by this elusive author remain scarce.

These books offer a unique opportunity to possess a signed copy of a work by this incomparable writer, while supporting a valuable cause close to his heart.

Novels by J. M. Coetzee

  • Dusklands (1974)
  • In the Heart of the Country (1977)
  • Waiting for the Barbarians (1980)
  • Life and Times of Michael K (1983)
  • Foe (1986)
  • Age of Iron (1990)
  • The Master of Petersburg (1994)
  • Boyhood: Scenes from Provincial Life (1997)
  • Disgrace (1999)
  • The Lives of Animals (1999)
  • Youth (2002)
  • Elizabeth Costello (2003)
  • Slow Man (2005)
  • Diary of a Bad Year (2007)


J.M. Coetzee's novels are characterised by their well-crafted composition, pregnant dialogue and analytical brilliance. But at the same time he is a scrupulous doubter, ruthless in his criticism of the cruel rationalism and cosmetic morality of western civilisation. It is in exploring weakness and defeat that Coetzee captures the divine spark in man.
The Swedish Academy Nobel Press Release

Nobel Prize site for J. M. Coetzee

Guardian site for J. M. Coetzee

New York Times page for J. M. Coetzee

Currently available

Volume I Dusklands

The first volume in the J. M. Coetzee Series is Dusklands, incorporating the full text of The Vietnam Project.
Find out more

The Life and Times of Michael K

The first ever book from Oak Tree Fine Press, signed by J. M. Coetzee and beautifully hand bound.

Find out more about this book and the Booker Prize Series.


An illustrated edition celebrating the novel that gained J. M. Coetzee an exceptional second Booker Prize.

Find out more about this book and the Booker Prize Series.